History of the Eleventh Episcopal District Lay (Historical Overview of Our Story)

1.	How many Conferences are there in the Eleventh Episcopal District? Name them.
2.	How many Districts are there in the Eleventh Episcopal District?
3.	Who was the first elected President of the Connectional Lay Organization?
4.	Who was the first elected President of the Eleventh Episcopal District?
5.	Who was the sixth elected President of the Eleventh Episcopal District and what makes them different from the other Eleventh Episcopal District Presidents?
6.	Name the Eleventh Episcopal District Presidents in order that they were elected.
7.	Name three factors that prevented the Lay Organization from growing.
8.	Name the Bishops of the Eleventh Episcopal District.
9.	In what Conference did the Eleventh Episcopal District Lay get its beginning?
10	. What Bishop in Florida denied the Laymen the opportunity of organizing within the church?

Post Test

History of the Eleventh Episcopal District Lay (Historical Overview of Our Story)

- 1. How many Conferences are there in the Eleventh Episcopal District? Name them.
 - 6- Florida Conference

East Conference

Central Conference

West Coast Conference

South Conference

Bahamas Conference

How many Districts are there in the Eleventh Episcopal District?
 17

3. Who was the first elected President of the Connectional Lay Organization? **Professor Charles H. Johnson of Wilberforce (1912-1916)**

4. Who was the first elected President of the Eleventh Episcopal District?

Dr. E. M. Blocker of the South Florida Conference (Dr. A. J. White of St. Paul A. M. E. Church in Tampa was appointed State Lay President).

- 5. Who was the sixth elected President of the Eleventh Episcopal District and what makes them different from the other Eleventh Episcopal District Presidents?
 Marian Bacon White (she was the first and to date the only female to hold this
 - office.)
- 6. Name the Eleventh Episcopal District Presidents in order that they were elected.

Dr. E. M. Blocker- Greater Bethel A. M. E. Church, Miami (South Conference) (1948-1953)

Felix White – Atlantic Beach, Florida (1953-1971)

Selmo Bradley – Quincy, Florida (1971-1984)

James L. Williams – Jacksonville, Florida (1984-1992)

Jesse L. Burns- Bradenton, Florida (1992-2000)

Marian Bacon-White – West Palm Beach, Florida (2000-2008)

Charlie Nichols – Pensacola, Florida (2008-Present)

- 7. Name three factors that prevented the Lay Organization from growing.
 - This organization met only once in four years at the seat of the General Conference.
 - Only delegates to that Conference were members.
 - Organization was composed of a constantly changing membership or personnel, and therefore could not do a good job of mobilizing the laity for effective service in the church
 - Due to changes in membership and no funds, the Organization did not reach the local lay members that needed the information.
- 8. Name the Bishops of the Eleventh Episcopal District.

Bishop A.W. Wayman	1867-1868	
Bishop John Mifflin Brown	1868-1872	
Bishop Y. Thomas D. Ward	1872-1876	
Bishop Jabez Pitt Campbell	1876-1880	
Bishop Alexander Washington Wayman	1880-1884	
Bishop Daniel Alexander Payne	1884-1888	
Bishop Benjamin William Arnett	1888-1892	
Bishop Thomas D. Ward	1892-1894	
Bishop Abram Grant	1894-1896	
Bishop James Crawford Embry	1896-1897	
Bishop Wesley John Gaines	1897-1900	
Bishop James Anderson Handy	1900-1904	
Bishop Benjamin Tucker Tanner	1904-1908	
Bishop Moses Buckingham Salter	1908 -1911	
Bishop Levi Jenkins Copin	1911 -1912	
Bishop John Hurst	1912 - 1928	
Bishop Joseph Simeon Flipper	1928 -1936	
Bishop Robert Alexander Grant	1936 -1939	
Bishop Henry Young Tookes	1939 - 1948	
Bishop Alexander Joseph Allen	February -May 1948	
Bishop John H. Gregg	1948 - 1953	
Bishop Carey Abraham Gibbs	1953-1956	
Bishop Decatur Ward Nichols	1956 -1957	
Bishop Sherman Lawrence Green	1957-1962	
Bishop William Franklin Ball	1962 -1964	
Bishop Eugene Clifford Hatcher	1964 -1968	
Bishop George Napoleon Collins	1968 -1972	
Bishop Wayman Blakley	January -August 1972	
Bishop G. Dewey Robinson	August 1972	
Bishop Hubert Nelson Robinson	1972-1976	
Bishop Samuel Solomon Morris	1976 – 1984	
Bishop Philip Robert Cousin	1984-1992	
Bishop Frank Curtis Cummings	1992-2000	
Bishop John Hurst Adams	2000-2008	
Bishop McKinley Young	2008-2012	
Bishop Adam Jefferson Richardson, Jr.	2012-Present	
In what Conference did the Fleventh Enjeconal District Lay get its heginning?		

9. In what Conference did the Eleventh Episcopal District Lay get its beginning?

South Conference

10. What Bishop in Florida denied the Laymen the opportunity of organizing within the church?

Bishop Henry Young Tookes

11. Who was the first President of the State Lay?

Dr. A. J. White of Saint Paul A. M. E. Church, Tampa

- 12. What year did the Eleventh Episcopal District undergo Restructuring? **2004**
- 13. What are the three stages of the organized Lay Movement?
 - Organized Lay Movement also called Layman's Missionary Movement
 - Connectional Lay College

• Connectional Lay Organization

14. Who was Dr. Katheryn Brown?

First female President of the Connectional Lay Organization.

- 15. Who served the longest as President of the Connectional Lay Organization? Mr. J.D. Williams of Kansas City, Missouri (1959-1985)
- 16. What two persons served as President of the Eleventh Episcopal District Lay Organization and the Connectional Lay Organization? What Conference(s) were they from?

James L. Williams – Jacksonville, Florida (East Conference)
Jesse L. Burns – Gainesville, Florida (East Conference)

17. What Bishop served the least amount of time in Florida?

Bishop G. Dewey Robinson (August 1972)